Monday, May 4, 2009

If you love vintage and you love French....

you will adore these books. I've been calling them my treasure books and they truly are.
Ever since these books "found me" several weeks ago, I've had difficulty putting them down.
This may sound crazy but I think the books "find you" and not the other way around.
These books knew I needed a little mini vacation and that is what they have provided.


Vintage French Interiors- Inspiration from the Antique Shops and Flea Markets of France
by Sebastien Siraudeau is filled with the most magical photo's.
It is beautifully written and just look at some of the photo's.



While reading this, I had the feeling that I was visiting the shops and markets with a good friend.
You will LOVE IT!




The other book that I am head over heels in love with is: The Flea Markets of France by Sandy Price, photo's by Emily Laxer.

Notice the size- small enough to fit in a carry on bag.
When hubby saw this book, he started shaking his head and laughing.
He knows me wayyyy too well!
I figure I am just being prepared (blame it on scouting as a child).


This little treasure book is just filled with helpful tips which I plan on absorbing-hehe.
I'm telling you, this book "found" me for a reason.


Just looking at the photo's makes me want to start shopping now.

If you should be near a bookstore soon, maybe these 2 treasure books will find you.
If they do, let me know.

9 comments:

Jacque said...

Barb, thanks for sharing those books...DO YOU SUPPOSE YOUR TRIP TO PARIS IS IN THE MAKING?? Oh me!! I've noticed that GORGEOUS black/white quilted spread in several pics. Did you by chance make it? That has MY NAME written all over it!!

Castles Crowns and Cottages said...

Bonjuor Barb! O.K...I need to go to Barnes and Noble and get these tout de suite! This is my kind of world. I need a little vacation too from stress and too much juggling around projects! I hope everyone is healthy and happy chez toi! Bisous, Anita

TattingChic said...

They look like lovely books! Thanks for a little peek into them! Love the moss covered angel statuette.

Nana Trish is Living the Dream said...

No wonder these books are calling your name. They look great!So pretty. They look like treasures.

Chrissy said...

Oh Barb... I love them...that first book looks sooo beautiful..I am going to ask at Indigos!! Thanks for coming by and as you always do leaving me such a nice comment, you always make me feel like I am not half bad at decorating!!! Talk soon, Chrissy

One Vintage Hag said...

hi barb,
so nice of you to stop by for a visit. jacque is great ~ glad she sent you for a visit.
now i love vintage too ~ so, I guess that means I too love French.
Bonjour~
adoring your lovely books~!
smiles,
~one vintage hag

I LOVE FRANCE said...

Hello Barb
Thans for visiting my blog and your lovely comment
Iam now going to have read through yours those books are great
have you seen my blog of our house in france we are doing up have a peek lots to do but we are loving it
Andrea

Paris Hotel Boutique said...

Barb, I think we all have "Paris on the brain." Not only did you and I post about these books, but I believe SF Girl by the Bay posted TODAY about the writer of "Paris Made by Hand."

We better plan a trip, huh?

xo Lynn

Sébastien said...

thank you from France for this really nice post, showing that vintage art of living can cross oceans ! amitiés, Sébastien

Related Posts with Thumbnails